Find us on Facebook

- Advertisement -

Premier League 2019-20: See The Award Winners For The Season

The longest-ever season in Premier League history came to a dramatic end on Sunday.  Despite the fears over COVID-19, the Premier League has done a commendable job in organising for teams to see out the season despite the pandemic.

Naijmobile takes a look at the winners of the league’s individual awards.

Golden Glove – Ederson Manchester City (16 Clean Sheets)

After 3 terrific seasons in the blue half of Manchester, Brazilian goalkeeper Ederson won his first Golden Glove in the Premier League.Ederson won the Golden Glove award after keeping his 16th clean sheet of the season against Norwich City to beat Burnley’s Nick Pope to the award.

He is the second Brazilian Golden Glove winner in two years, with Liverpool’s Alisson winning it last year.

Playmakers award – Kevin De Bruyne (20 Assists)

Manchester City’s imperious Belgian, Kevin De Bruyne capped off a stellar season with his 20th assist against Norwich City equalling Thierry Henry’s record of 20 assists in a single Premier League season.

He is the second Belgian Playmaker Award-winner in two years after Eden Hazard in 2018.

Golden Boot – Jamie Vardy Leicester City (23 Goals)

Leicester’s City’s legendary striker suffered heartbreak on the last day of the season as the Foxes lost out a spot in Next Season UEFA Champions League. However, he remained the leading scorer of the 2019/20 Premier League campaign to win his first ever Golden Boot.

Vardy beat Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (22), Southampton’s Danny Ings (22) and Manchester City forward Raheem Sterling (20) to scoop the prestigious individual award.Vardy also became the oldest-ever winner of the award.

The 2020/21 season of the Premier League wil start on September 12 and run until May 23, 2021.

Leave a Response