Find us on Facebook

- Advertisement -

Ballon d’Or 2017: Ronaldo wins 5th award to equal Messi’s tally

Ballon d’Or 2017: Portuguese Captain, and Real Madrid’s super star, Cristiano Ronaldo has claimed a fifth Ballon d’Or award to bring him level with Messi’s record tally.

Ronaldo, who was tipped to win this year’s award after leading Real Madrid to a second consecutive Champions league victory last June has had an illustrious year – a year that has seen him pick up FIFA’s Best Male Player as well.

Ronaldo beats Messi to the Ballon d’Or award for the second year running, while world record signing, Neymar Jnr. can only settle for third position in this year’s contest.

“I feel happy, it’s a great moment in my career,” said Ronaldo, while receiving his award on the Eiffel Tower. “This is something I look forward to every year. Last year we had an amazing season in the Champions League and La Liga.

“I have to thank my team-mates, Real Madrid and the rest of the people who helped me to be in great shape throughout the season.”

Messi and Ronaldo have now won the last ten editions of the prestigious football award between them. The last player other than the duo to win the award being Brazilian Kaka.

“I hope to play at this level for a few more years, I hope the battle with Messi continues, things happen for a reason,” he added.

“I feel good this season and we’ll see what we win at the end of the year.”

Read also; Ronaldo Missing from Ballon d’Or 2017 Nominees List?

Veteran Italian goal keeper, Buffon was 4th, while N’golo Kante was the highest ranked player in England in 8th position.

See the full ranking of the 30-man shortlist for 2017 Ballon d’Or below:

1 Cristiano Ronaldo
2 Lionel Messi
3 Neymar
4 Gianluigi Buffon
5 Luka Modric
6 Sergio Ramos
7 Kylian Mbappe
8 N’Golo Kante
9 Robert Lewandowski
10 Harry Kane
11 Edinson Cavani
12 Isco
13 Luis Suarez
14 Kevin De Bruyne
15 Paulo Dybala
16 Marcelo
17 Toni Kroos
18 Antoine Griezmann
19 Eden Hazard
20 David De Gea
21 Leonardo Bonucci and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
23 Sadio Mane
24 Radamel Falcao
25 Karim Benzema
26 Jan Oblak
27 Mats Hummels
28 Edin Dzeko
29 Philippe Coutinho and Dries Mertens


1 Comment

Leave a Response