Find us on Facebook

- Advertisement -

Ronaldo wins 2017 FIFA Best Men’s Player Award.

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA Best Men’s Footballer Award for the second year running.

At an event held in London on Monday, the Real Madrid and Portugal superstar was presented the 2017 award by Football greats Diego Maradona and  Brazil striker, Ronaldo, after fending off competition from Lionel Messi and Neymar for the award.

The award came as no surprise considering the stellar achievements of the prolific striker in 2016/2017; having helped club and country to La Liga, Champions League and European Championships trophies.

“Thank you a lot, to the guys who voted for me,” Ronaldo said while receiving his prize. “Real supporters, my team-mates, my coach, my president, I have to thank them too.

“We are in England for the first time and I win consecutive awards. This is a great moment for me. I know I have fans all over the world so thanks a lot for the support.”

Ronaldo’s Real Madrid coach, Zinedine Zidane also won Best FIFA Men’s Coach on the night, after beating Chelsea’s Antonio Conte and Juventus’ coach, Massimmo Allegri to the award.

Zidane, who led Real Madrid to their first La Liga title in five years also became the first coach to win back-to-back UEFA Champions league trophies after he guided his team to victory over Juventus last June.

Arsenal’s striker, Olivier Giroud won the FIFA Puskas Award for goal of the year. His Scorpion-kick goal against Crystal Palace on New Year’s day was voted the best goal of the year.

Veteran Italian and Juventus keeper, Gianluigi Buffon, won the 2017 FIFA Best Men’s Goalkeeper Award.

Also, Ronaldo and Messi featured in the FIFA FIFPro XI for the 11th successive year.

Full list of winners:

  • Best FIFA Men’s Player – Cristiano Ronaldo
  • Best FIFA Women’s Player – Lieke Martens
  • FIFA XI: Buffon; Marcelo, Bonucci, Ramos, Alves; Iniesta, Modric, Kroos; Neymar, Ronaldo, Messi
  • Best FIFA Women’s Coach – Sarina Wiegman
  • Best Male Coach – Zinedine Zidane
  • Best Goalkeeper – Gianluigi Buffon
  • Puskas Award for best goal – Olivier Giroud
  • FIFA Fans Award – Celtic.
  • FIFA Fair Play Award – Francis Kone.

See also: TECNO Phantom 8 price in Nigeria and specifications

Leave a Response